the old calico cat

the old calico cat                                 January 18, 2016
the old calico cat growls
in her throat. she purrs to tell me
not to stop and grrs to tell them to go.

they are the young panther cats
playing pet-tetris in my bed.

the youngest panther likes
to chew my pen while i write
and still kisses with his teeth.

the old panther just lies close
by my head and watches me breathe.

but the old leopard, she is a jealous god.
some women are like that; taught that they
can never be enough, never have enough.

it’s all show with her. under the well
groomed fur and long nails
she wants her ears washed.

i can tell her all night that she is my favorite.
she won’t listen to me. old women never do.

i wonder who told her she isn’t enough
that now she must growl.

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

