an essay on the book of lamentations

an essay on the book of lamentations                    R – March 16, 2016
i leave two plastic bowls                                                             November 23, 2015
and a yellow box of cheerios
on the table.
they can reach the milk themselves.
i’m too old
to be up at midnight
eating cheerios with sliced banana
over the remnants of homework.
at least i add the banana.
old enough to try to eat well.
if they can reach their own breakfast
maybe i can make up an hour of sleep.
when they look back
what will they remember of this time?
their mother
taking eighteen hours
and forgetting about the band meeting
and the laundry
and never packing lunches.
do they know how lonely i am
after dad left?
how i never want
to wake up to another day?
they never called him dad anyway,
just scott,
but they want to see him
and go to the all you can eat buffet
i could never afford.
my speeding ticket is due tomorrow
i don’t want it converted to an arrest warrant
and my paper is due wednesday
48 hours away.
i have nothing.
i think i am going to write about
lamentations.
every news feed
full of refugees
and i have friends
in pakistan.
and me
me and the box of cheerios
for company.

©Melissa Bendt, 2015

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

