A Prayer for My Enemies

The thing about praying for your enemies is that you have to find away to pray that they receive all the best blessings you most want for yourself. It’s easy to pray something like, “God, smite the asshole who want’s to grab me by the pussy and spend trillions of dollars on an already massive and oppressive military.” But this isn’t praying for the enemy, it’s praying for my own revenge fantasy.

So I spent the morning thinking about the best blessings in my life. And I keep coming back to all the awesome friends God has given me. I set out to follow Jesus and to find people who help me with this, who would show me how to love God, my neighbors, and my enemies.

And did I ever find those people. Or maybe God dropped them into my life. Over and over and over again God has sent my Muslims to help with this follow-Jesus thing. I’ve learned to be a better friend. I’ve learned to see every human being on the planet as a neighbor. I’ve been gently guided back to faith and trust and surrender to God over and over and over and over.

And I’ve learned what it actually looks like to love one’s enemies and wish them peace. Over and over and over I’ve been on the receiving end of unimaginable grace and mercy and kindness from human beings who have watched their homes and countries be destroyed by the war machine of my country.

These friends, the ones who say, “May Allah bless you,” are the friends who dug me out of my pit of despair when I watched my mother’s church host Trump Jr. for a rally right before the election. My Christian friends implied I’d go to hell for calling out the evil of a church effectively shutting it’s doors to poor, immigrants, women, disabled people, all the people who have been mocked and belittled and ridiculed in campaign rhetoric. It was my Muslim friends who held my hand and comforted me and pointed me back to God when I wanted to quit on the whole church-thing.

My Muslim friends make me a better human being, a better Jesus-follower, a better friend, a better mother, a better recovering addict, a better writer, a better student, a better giver, a better pray-er.

And so, this is what I pray for those who would hurt me or my loved ones, that they will be given the blessing of friends like mine, that God will bless them with lots and lots and lots of Muslim friends. These friends have been one of the best things in my life, they are good to me and good for me.


Dear God,

I can’t call him my president. You know how I feel about this. I’m worried and angry, sad and hurt. I feel like my country has made a terrible mistake. Please, Lord, bless this man with good friends, with friends like mine. Give him friends who will teach him and guide him. Give him friends who say, “May Allah bless you,” so he can know the love and grace and mercy I have been shown from these friends of mine. Please God, give him lots and lots of Muslim friends because a Christian who wants to follow You can’t have too many friends. Give him friends who will teach him to love his enemies, to be a good friend and neighbor, and to put You first.

Amen.

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2.5 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in politics, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

