a tether

a tether                                     June 29, 2016
why do i answer his calls
if we are not going to speak?
only three months ago
he couldn’t get enough of me
blowing up my phone
night and day and night
attention is the water
that grows a garden of love
but his jug
is watering everywhere
but here
and i watch
while our flowers wither
under the sun of desert summer
why give me the seeds
only to watch
the little date tree
in my heart
die?
there will never be fruit to eat
from a tree with dry roots
and these roots in my heart
are left exposed with every “hello”
he doesn’t want to talk with me
but only
to keep a hold on me
but me
i am a circling plane
with the fuel on E
and his runway
is too full for me
shall i land on the highway
or crash in the sand?

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

