How to Catch the Echo

How to Catch the Echo                            June 23, 2016
I am only Echo
a woman who wasted away
who wasted away to an echo
from unrequited love and loyalty

a woman who wasted away
and can only echo back to you
when she feels your love and loyalty
Echo is only a mirror of sound

I can only echo back to you
for Narcissus has killed me
I am only a mirror of sound
to reflect his vanity

for Narcissus had killed me
before you found me
dead at the hands of his vanity
a victim of man’s pride and cruelty

before you found me
my Boy from the Nile Valley
I wore the shame of man’s pride and cruelty
silently in the cave of desert rock

my Boy from the Nile Valley
who saw the edge of Echo’s humanity
peeking shyly from her cave of desert rock
and promised to send her a palm tree

who saw that in Echo lives humanity
for she is not ghost nor angel
just a girl who would plant a tree
just a girl who loved unconditionally

for she is not ghost nor angel
though her heart had turned to wind
still a girl who loves unconditionally
though she was thrown away to die alone

her heart had turned to wind
until your lips spoke the word of life
she was thrown away to die alone
but survived in the voice of Echo

your lips spoke the word of life
and brought blood to the cave of Echo
you will survive in the voice of Echo
for she is a creature of eternity

your seed belongs in the cave of Echo
for the Echo will multiply your gifts
for she is a creature of eternity
a cousin of Mary in longing and loyalty

the echo will multiply your gifts
think well what your silence means
to a woman of longing and loyalty
the emptiness you plant will grow

think well what your silence means
for I am only an Echo
the emptiness you plant will grow
until you, too, are wasted away to an Echo

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

