For My Gay* Friends, My Muslim Friends, and My Fellow Americans and Christians

Fifty dead. Dozens more wounded. Heavy hearts. Anger. Grief. Blame.

First I want to say that I stand with my gay friends. You and your community have endured too much horror and terror. No one deserves, ever, for any reason, to be denied human rights, dignity, and safety. You are beautiful, beloved human beings. I am proud to have friends with the courage and kindness I have seen from you. You are welcome in my home. My bathroom is open to you. Any time you need a friend to walk or talk with, I’m here for you. I will do everything in my power to support you, to fight for your rights, to protect you from harm.

Second I want to say that I stand with my Muslim friends. You and your community have endured too much horror and terror. No one deserves, ever, for any reason, to be denied human rights, dignity, and safety.  You are beautiful, beloved human beings. I am proud to have friends with the courage and kindness I have seen from you. You are welcome in my home. My little prayer space is open to you. Any time you need a friend to walk or talk with, I’m here for you. I will do everything in my power to support you, to fight for your rights, to protect you from harm.

If I wrote a post about every mass shooting in America I’d do nothing else. If I wrote about every time my fellow Christians have been hypocritical assholes about the humanity and rights of others I’d do nothing else.

I really, really want to believe that God can redeem and make use of the very worst of human atrocities. I really, really hope that we will all learn something about violent ideologies, homophobia, and access to assault rifles.

Today I am most disgusted and sickened by the reactions of American Christians. People who yesterday wanted to deny my gay friends the right to use a restroom are now pretending to love everybody. It’s a flip-flop of gigantic proportions.

Here’s food for thought: if you want to deprive gay people of rights then you agree with terrorist ideologies.

I am disgusted by the way American Christians seem to want every Muslim on the planet to personally apologize for and condemn the actions of someone they didn’t even know. And doubly disgusted by the reality that anti-gay hate and violence can be most clearly traced to American “Christians.” I can’t even say that this is a case of the pot calling the kettle black. I haven’t seen any Muslims in the US Congress calling for laws banning gay people from using a bathroom. Not one. So who the hell are we to turn around and point fingers?

I am ashamed to live in a country that is so obsessed with weapons and force and hate and violence and war that someone with a history of domestic violence can purchase an assault rifle easier than I can purchase a birth control pill or antibiotics. We have no one to blame but ourselves, America. We set the world standard of violent extremism, of homophobia, of human rights abuses, of access to weapons. When profiting from the sale of weapons is shamed more heavily than human sexuality then, maybe, we will have room to complain.

I am sick thinking about how quickly this nightmare has been snatched by politicians to bash “the gay lifestyle” or to push for a “Muslim ban.” For fucking shame, America. I am sick thinking about the “thoughts and prayers” of public figures seeking attention for themselves rather than offering support for survivors and the cultural change and action we need to prevent more of the same.

I can’t even read the news anymore today. The blatant racism, ahistorical headlines (are we counting state-sponsored massacres of Native and African Americans as deadly mass shootings?), assumptions, homophobia, and Islamaphobia have gone well beyond my limit.

I’ve lost count of how many of my gay friends have stood up against the hate mongering and fear, have shown love and courage.

I’ve lost count of how many of my Muslim friends have condemned the violence and stood for peace and tolerance.

I’ve lost count of how many Christian friends are suddenly in favor of gay rights as of this morning. I wish I’d lost count of how many of my Christian friends have always been allies and supporters. But no, this is still the same, short list it was yesterday. I really, really, really hope that some of this new-found tolerance for gay people sticks around and becomes a permanent part of my country and my faith. And I really, really, really hope that this does not happen at the expense of people who’s faith shares so much with mine.

*And Also Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and all who are still left out.

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2.5 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in non-violence, pondering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

