temptation

temptation
i know that i need to
find someway to tell you
of this terrible temptation i have
to do it again
to find someone
to touch me and hold me and talk to me
when you absent yourself
and use love
like a commodity wth an
astronomical price i can never pay

i may be – like you said –
like magdalene – clinging closer to christ
than many – but also – like her
i am just a human woman
ordinary flesh and blood
and i need life and love
found close in contact
and conversation

you refuse to be my comfort
my harbor my shelter
i am at sea and suffocating
in salty snow and sorrow
you asked me to let you
show me love be love
be my safety
lies – just a note you called it–
lies and not ever apologies
more the fool am i

you say you must
get more from me
than you give yourself
or give to me
that is not
equality
nor partnership

i give
love loyalty generously
what do you give?
hostility impossible expectations manipulations

this man
calls to check on me
buys dinner
prays with me
temptation

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2.5 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

