keep Him

keep Him                                            July 4, 2015
yes, yes i know your song
“you for you and i for i”
but your theology is wrong.
have you not heard the Word?

there is no good news for me
in the jesus you have shown
for always you condemn me – lacking, lazy–
you take a girl, lost, and sell her in to whoredom.

she cries and cries and cries
an orphan raising fatherless children.
christ is right before your eyes
and you crucify her in your sin.

what wickedness is this
you twist the words of prophecy
and claim a hypocrite’s objectivity?

oh what a pharisee you are
to keep your body clean
while your heart is hard and far
and your eyes lustful and mean.

you will refuse to hear my call
or twist my words to suit your demon’s ears.
have you no faith at all
to clutch so tight at pride and fear?

repent! repent!
come back to me
it is only in atonement
that you may find serenity.

the injustice of your judgement
will keep you broken and loveless
ever pricked by pride and torment.
you cannot hoard the limitless.

hear you not the groaning of the silence
the wailing of the ghost of innocence?
see you not the blood shed by your violence
the woman dying for your selfishness?

but you refuse to hear or see
beyond the edge of your navel’s cavity
for then you must have empathy
and bear responsibility.

your god must not be one of mercy
that you are so eager to forget me
so willing to taunt a child’s misery
so ensconced in arrogance, superiority.

your god must not be one of love
that you show me such contempt and spite.
who is this jesus that you speak of?
so sure that you alone are always right.

your god must not be one of justice
that you act with cruelty and wickedness
toward those you deem no consequence
that you show such selfishness and intolerance.

keep that god of yours.
i do not want him near me
lest he cut my children in their cores
or poison them with your vanity.

my jesus says it’s not ok
to do as you have done.
i think i’ll follow His lonely way
out hear in desert’s baking sun.

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

