Top 15 of 2015

It was an exciting year for me here. I went back to university for another degree. I survived the process of officially, legally getting divorced. I went for all of 2015 completely drug and alcohol free. I made a 95-day stretch of posting here at least once a day. I read dozens of books and even managed to write reviews of several of them. Little PB turned 11 and bought himself a pet fish. Little J and I had a beautiful mommy-daughter day watching Star Wars.

Due to my New Years Puzzle project I am just now getting around to looking back on last year. It’s been nice to hole up and hibernate the last week. But back to business. What have I to learn from last year in moving into this one? I’m always a little surprised what ends up being popular here and what gets 2 views and is quickly lost in the teaming mass of internet-ness. So, for 2015, here’s the top 15 posts, excluding the Home Page and the About Page. Those are always top hits but don’t tell very much about what my dear readers land here for.

#1. When Will We Have Had Enough? This is the post that prompted me to add a “Comments Policy” and start actually moderating comments here. It seems I hit a nerve and got some people a little excited with this one. This was also one of my most shared posts, for which I thank my readers.

2. No More of This! I stole this title from some words Jesus spoke about swords and ears and violence. It’s also got some stats on terrorism and some context on where America and Europe fit in the bigger picture of a bleeding planet. Stop for a minute and imagine living somewhere where there’s an attack every single day.

3. blood This is one of those that puzzles me. It’s a poem that’s gotten 2 Likes and no comments but is still #3 in page hits. Do other bloggers have posts people read but never like?

4. open A poem on judgement, love, and being salty.

5.Damaged Goods and Discrediting Women Domestic violence, honor killings, STOP! means STOP!, and the courage to speak up.

6. love letter The Valentine’s Day post. A poem and some thoughts on Love.

7. free Poetry and internalized sexism.

8.eyes Poetry, God’s Eyes, Temples, and the Holy Spirit.

9. call A Sweet, short poem on being Called.

10. beads More poetry. “What is love/without action?”

11. ash into paper New Year’s Poem from 2015, written when I was 19, but still relevant. What is burned cannot be rebuilt.

12. don’t look at me like that This poem from 2014 remains a top hitter for another year. I wrote it for reading at open-mics and it’s always popular when I do. What woman doesn’t know the feeling of being ordered to smile for men’s comfort? It’s a laughter-to-tears in 3minutes poem and one of my favorites.

13. keep talking I’m not at all sure why I posted this crappy poem in the first place, much less how it made the Top 15.

14. danger Another poem for The Scorpion.

15. The Right Kind-of Anything An inspiration essay written for one friend and then posted for another. You are the right kind of you.

 

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in blogging, pondering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

