reservations

reservations
“i reserve the right to be an asshole”
sounds like a reservation in hell
for the both of us

aye, my love,
you have that right
to be who ever you want
to be
but please
don’t asshole me
anymore

i’m tired, my love,
tired of loving an asshole
tired of wanting
and not getting

it is fucked up
most of all that i put up
with it at all


True story. I don’t know if he ever will develop the insight to see just how wrong and mutually degrading such thinking is. He is was one of those people who’s ability to “forget” is truly phenomenal. Last I heard he was complaining because he didn’t feel “inspired” and had to do too much busy work. I pray that someday he learns that we aren’t here to be inspired but to inspire, that how we do the boring busy work of life says the most about who we are.

I quit putting up with it, and, needless to say, as soon as I did he had no use for me. A girl who would suck his dick and like it after he “reserved the right to be an asshole” was what he wanted but not what I could ever be. I have the right not to but up with people being assholes to me. And I exercise that right liberally.

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2.5 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

