Book Review: Crossroads

“You only get one day’s worth of grace, so why not spend it extravagantly?” -Wm. Paul Young

I’m a bit short on time for non-school reading and writing but tonight I just needed to read for pleasure. Wm. Paul Young’s Crossroads grabbed me by the heart. It isn’t so much what he says but how he says it. Reading Christian Fiction is risky business — an awful lot of it is trash and seems to point to a god I wouldn’t want to believe in either. Not this book. This book has little slice of the great, huge, incredible God I know. The one who seems especially prone to showing up in little children and damaged people.

I get it that writing about God in an accessible and entertaining way may be on of the hardest jobs on the planet. I’ve read a lot of really good books, a lot of books about God, a lot of great stories about people. This is the kind of reading that helps me remember why I am here and who I am. I highly recommend this book. It’s entertaining and educational, an easy, yet emotional read.

I actually like it better than his last book, The Shack, if for different reasons. I don’t want to give away the story for anyone who hasn’t read it. It begins with a man working on a ticket to join AA and completely consumed with himself. I will say no more on the plot. Both books are great for “God as I (don’t) understand Him/Her” work but Crossroads goes a bit further into such things as moral inventories, character defects, and repairing human relationships. It’s a bit paranormal and cheesy but totally worth the suspension of disbelief  to just go along with it and enjoy it. A few chapters show masterful use of allegory and I think his style and story-telling abilities have improved with experience. (That’s probably true of all writers, myself included. Early work can be a bit…rough and we are constantly growing and changing.)

It’s a book of hope and grace and transformation and is well worth reading. I’d love to hear comments on what other people think of it so go read and come back soon!

 

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2.5 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in book review, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

