slice her

slice her
someday you will know
what it means to love
with every fiber of yourself
to love with your heart wide open
to suffer gladly for her mistakes
it will not be duty or inconvenience
to offer comfort and compassion
you will learn to lift her up
when life has knocked her flat
robbed her and left her for dead
your heart will break
not in self-centered irritation
but in solidarity with her suffering
she will not be
one face in a multitude
but the child who walked at your side
the woman who lets you inside
and holds you tight
no matter that your jagged broken edges
slice her inside out
in a million tiny cuts


There is, of course, a story behind this poem. Alas, I am much too tired to tell it tonight. It was open-house at the kids’ school tonight and I had a discussion forum post due to tidy up and get posted. I get to take Survey of Eastern Religions and it is a fascinating class but some of my classmates wear me out and I don’t even have to see them IRL. If you hate religion and religious people go take Intro to Psych or Western Civ for your humanities elective! I fail to understand the “must prove everything and everyone wrong” mindset. I suspect it is even more exhausting to live like that than to put up with people like that. It sounds miserably to have to constantly work to defend and offend. I think I’ll stick with assertiveness and citing my sources. And now it is time for a snack and some rest.

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2.5 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

