strong

strong 1.13.15
“the stronger person always apologizes first”
i know this is true
but somehow i never wanted to be
stronger than you
i wish you would take the lead
breaking the trail
has worn me out
but i know when you are in front
i am left behind
every time
i wish we would pull as a team
with God driving us both
in His direction

i need to rest, my love
my soul is old
and my heart is tired
i need that harbor
you wrote of
but unlike poetry
love letters are lies

perhaps i have always known
i am stronger and wiser
girls are cursed to love and suffer
like no man can

i know you hate
the chains of responsibility
more than any others

i have run out of words
to call you with
at best you ignore
an SOS
and too often
you have stolen hope
when it was all i had

and perhaps
it is not my strength
at all
but God’s

they say He will not
give you more than you can manage
but i know that this
is as false as your promises
God will give everything
but you must let Him manage
all of it

but tonight
i am tired
i need rest
and to be
wrapped in love

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2.5 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

