let me

let me
i can’t get your bullshit out of my head
i have to make a rebuttal
because you are so sure
you speak for me
shut up
let me
speak for me
quit trying to read me
you can’t
you do not know
your own heart
your confidence
is your pedestal
your commands and demands
chain you there
from years of superiority
aye, you are miserable
up there
but it is not me
who put you there
and i cannot
break your fall


I’ve been writing starting to write a number of prose posts pondering various bits of my current life and then consigning them to the drafts cemetery. I keep thinking I’ll go through and turn some of them into real posts but them I never do.

So here’s a poem from the pile for you instead.

I’ve been getting to do a lot of heavy reading for school this week and am a tad brain dead. I did get my first paper returned with a grade. It’s a good night to find my own words to remind me of the price of pride.

About m

My ego wants to think I'm a writer but my heart knows I'm just another one of God's Kids who sometimes has words to say. 2.5 human kids and 3 feline kids call me Mom. Or Mooooooom. Or mewom, depending which you ask. My most recent completed endeavor was finishing BA's in Religious Studies and American Studies. I don't remember what free time is but I think I like to spend it sleeping or playing in the mud on a river bank.
This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

